Your browser does not support JavaScript!

Dignitaries Honor the Founder at His Birthday Lecture

Dignitaries Honor the Founder at His Birthday Lecture

Dignitaries from within and outside the AUN community attended this year's Founder's Day Lecture on November 25. Distinguished African Scholar in the field of Agriculture, and Director of the UNESCO International Centre for Biotechnology at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Professor Umezuruike Linus Opara, delivered the lecture.

An annual AUN tradition, the lecture is held in honor of the Founder of the University, His Excellency Atiku Abubakar, GCON. The lecture was titled 'Research, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship for Sustainable Development – the Role of a Liberal University in the 21st Century’.

Dignitaries present include the University's Interim President, President Attahir Yusuf, chair of the Dean's Council and Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, Professor Patrick Fay, as well as other deans. Senior management, including the VP Finance, Ms. Nnenna Mosugu, and AVP Human Resources and Planning, Mrs. Faizatu Abubakar were also present while Senior Director of Public Affairs and Community Relations, Mr. Yusuf Mohammaed, ably coordinated the event in the Library Auditorium.

Respectable dignities from the outside including Alhaji Umar Wuro-Cheke, a member of the AUN Governing Council, Honorable Iliya James, Honorable Commissioner, Adamawa State Ministry of Entrepreneurship Development, and Prof. Ahmed Bawa Bello, Dean, Faculty of Management Sciences, Modibbo Adama University, Yola, also graced the occasion. Others were Dr. Abbas Babaye, representing the Provost, Federal College of Education, Yola, and Dr. Jafa N. Jafa, Coordinator, Biotechnology Center, Modibbo Adama University, Yola.

As part of the occasion, the AUN Human Resources Department recognized eight staff members with awards for their hard work and dedication. The awardees were drawn from various departments and units. On behalf of the Registrar/VP Administration, Mrs. Faizatu, the AVP HR& Planning presented the 2021 Outstanding Staff award plaques to the staff recipients.

The award recipients are Ahmed Umar (Marketing & Communication), Fatima Swawale (Finance Operations), Muhammad Yahaya (School of Arts & Sciences), and Otobong Ikpe (Health Center). Others are Danjuma Pentium (Library & Digital Services), Artimas Williams (Safety & Security Department), Napoleon Gimanu (Facilities Management), and Abdul Auwal Saidu, Fleet Management.

2022 Founder's Day Staff Award Recipients

  1. Ahmed Umar (Marketing & Communication)
  2. Fatima Swawale (Financial Operations)
  3. Muhammad Yahaya (School of Arts & Sciences)
  4. Otobong Ikpe (Health Center)
  5. Danjuma Pentium (Library & Digital Services)
  6. Artimas Williams (Safety & Security)
  7. Napoleon Gimanu (Facilities Management), and
  8. Abdul Auwal Saidu (Fleet Management)

Reported by John Abah


American University of Nigeria
98 Lamido Zubairu Way
Yola Township bypass
PMB 2250, Yola
Adamawa State, Nigeria
Tel: +234 805-200-2962