Honor Society Inducts Spring 2019 Members

Honor Society Inducts Spring 2019 Members

On April 5, 2019, nineteen students were inducted into the most prestigious student organization on campus, the AUN Honor Society.

The event was held at 12:30 pm in the Library Auditorium and was attended by HS members, their fellow students, and some distinguished guests, including President Dekle, Provost Muhammadou Kah, and the AVP of Foundation Programs Reginald Braggs.

“You have been carefully chosen,” said Marho Ohimor, President of the Society, in his welcome address to the inductees. He encouraged the inductees to be strong in their academics and never compromise on their integrity.

“By joining the HS, you have chosen to take an active role in the AUN Community,” said Dr. Obioma Uche, SAS professor and faculty advisor to the Society, speaking to the inductees in a talk on HS activities, services, and humanitarian efforts.

Telecoms & Wireless Technologies program Chair, Dr. Abubakar Sadiq Hussaini, introduced the keynote speaker for the ceremony, Dr. Agatha Ukata, who spoke about the importance of commitment, service, and responsibility.

“To whom much is given, much is expected,” said Dr. Ukata, chair of the English Department. Congratulating the inductees on their achievement, she challenged them to rise to the occasion, act as role models, reflect the values of the Honor Society, and improve it with their creative ideas.

“You are already capable of achieving above and beyond,” said Dr. Ferdinand Che, SITC professor and another faculty advisor to the Society, speaking to the inductees in a talk on ethics and commitment. Dr. Che emphasized the importance of self-awareness, imagination, conscience, and will, and challenged the inductees to be the best they could be.

Following the traditional presentation of sashes and certificates of induction, President Dekle led the inductees in the induction pledge, offering them her congratulations and formally welcoming them into the AUN Honor Society. The event concluded with Sedoo Orje-Ishegh, Vice President of the AUN Honor Society, giving a vote of thanks, and the honored guests - President Dekle and Dr. Ukata being presented with certificates of appreciation.

The AUN Honor Society has gained 19 more members; it is hoped that the AUN Community has gained 19 more role models.


Reported by Ross Hart, Computer Science major