AUN Cooperative Society Elects First Exco

After three formative years since 2010, AUN Community Cooperative Society elected its first substantive officials on Thursday, November 21. The turnout at the event surprised many because most prior meetings had suffered from a lack of quorum. Voter turnout exceeded 50 percent of a nominal roll of close to 400.

Altogether 12 candidates contested seven positions with the following returned: Boniface G. Sukat, President;  Ms. Kuve Vandi, Vice President; Nasiru Yakubu, General Secretary; Aliyu Abubakar Jada, Assistant General Secretary (unopposed); Emeka Ufomadu, Treasurer; Mathias Sendave, Financial Secretary, and Innocent O. Nwobodo, Public Relations Officer (unopposed).

Sukat, Yakubu, and Sendave were in the founding Protem Exco led by Linus Ikyurav, the Assistant Vice President for Marketing & Recruitment. Ikyurav congratulated the entire membership on “the major milestone in the history of the Cooperative,” saying that the success of the transitional polls “does not only reflect a solid foundation for the governance of our organization, but also follows the democratic tradition being promoted at AUN generally, with the repeated successful conduct of student elections, from which the rest of Nigeria may learn a thing or two.”

Many commended the transparency of the election conducted by a committee of three comprising Godwin Ogbu, Samson Mshelia, and Ms. Blessing Jude—all of whom had declared disinterest before they were appointed. 

The new Exco will be sworn in on December 5 to assume of office on January 1, 2014.

American University of Nigeria
98 Lamido Zubairu Way
Yola Township bypass
PMB 2250, Yola
Adamawa State, Nigeria

Tel: +234 805 200 2962



Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2018 American University of Nigeria. All Rights Reserved.